The Milton Friedman50th Anniversary CSR Debate

10 Sept, 4pm BST / 11am EST / 8am PT

September 10th 2020 marks 50 years since The New York Times published Milton Friedman’s seminal article entitled “The Social Responsibility of Business is to Increase Profits.”

The comment proved highly controversial from the moment it was published. Few would question its influence but, half a century later, corporate social responsibility and its successor, ‘ESG’ have gone mainstream. Businesses ‘with a purpose’ are in the ascendant. Meanwhile, around a third of all actively managed money and the majority of multi-national businesses are committed to some form of CSR and ESG agenda.

Milton Friedman was one of the most influential economists of all time., but is he now losing the argument?

Attend our live online discussion with four of the world’s leading intellectuals on the subject of corporate social responsibility.

The Panel

Joanne B Ciulla

Professor, Rutgers Business School

John Kay

Professor, CBE, FRSE, FBA, FAcSS

Brad Cornell

Emeritus Professor of Finance, UCLA

Guido Palazzo

Professor, University of Lausanne
Ross-Butler

Ross Butler

Moderator and host, Fund Shack